Last minute applicant; please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ar94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This may sound very odd but I've decided in the past few weeks to pursue dentistry. I have no shadowing experience nor have I taken the DAT yet. I want to attend the UMD Dental school. I recently graduated UMCP, a school in MD. I've had a change of heart and want to now pursue dentistry. I'm hoping I can contact my personal dentist about shadowing her. How many hours of shadowing would make me competitive? I've shadowed MDs for close to 100 or so hours and volunteered at a PACU surgery for about 100 or so hours too. My CGPA was 3.9 and my sGPA is about 3.9. I actually took the PCAT, which I heard is similar to the DAT. Do you think I would need to study a lot more for the DAT and also how should I change my study techniques? Do you think I will have enough time before the January deadline to get everything done? I think I can get at least 50 shadowing hours in by June and take the DAT by August. What do you all think? Is this all feasible? What are my chances of getting in? Thank you in advance for reading my post.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Submitting a complete application in January will basically give you little to no chance. Some programs require 40hrs, some 200 but ~100 should be sufficient to meet most requirements. IMO your scenario seems too rushed

Reactions: 1 user
Submitting a complete application in January will basically give you little to no chance. Some programs require 40hrs, some 200 but ~100 should be sufficient to meet most requirements. IMO your scenario seems too rushed
Thank you for the information. If I can submit everything by October is that an appropriate time of submission? In other words what is the usual time when everyone has submitted everything in? Can I also submit before taking the dat?

Members don't see this ad :)