Leaving a Post-Bacc program...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wi219

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
How much will it hurt my application to medical school if I leave my (non-structured) post bacc program? I'm thinking of going back to the 4 year non research university where I got my bachelors. I've got 2 A-'s in the courses I've taken at the post-bacc program. My cGPA is ~3.3 & sGPA is ~3.2 with a upward trend.

Members don't see this ad.

How much will it hurt my application to medical school if I leave my (non-structured) post bacc program? I'm thinking of going back to the 4 year non research university where I got my bachelors. I've got 2 A-'s in the courses I've taken at the post-bacc program. My cGPA is ~3.3 & sGPA is ~3.2 with a upward trend.

It will not hurt your application at all. There are lots of nontrads who decide to take classes across multiple schools due to work schedules, finances, proximity, and any number of other reasons. This is 100% a nonissue, will not be a problem.

I'm curious, why do you want to leave? Just two A- marks does not seem all that bad to me at least. I've got pretty much the same stats as you from my undergrad (cGPA: 3.2, sGPA: 3.3 [ours is just flipped]). I'm about to start my first semester for Postbaac this Fall myself.

It will not hurt your application at all. There are lots of nontrads who decide to take classes across multiple schools due to work schedules, finances, proximity, and any number of other reasons. This is 100% a nonissue, will not be a problem.

Thank you for getting back to me.
(I'm not sure if I count as a non-traditional student because I'm 25.)

I'm curious, why do you want to leave? Just two A- marks does not seem all that bad to me at least. I've got pretty much the same stats as you from my undergrad (cGPA: 3.2, sGPA: 3.3 [ours is just flipped]). I'm about to start my first semester for Postbaac this Fall myself.