Letters of Rec: Am I sunk?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SplitScreen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks to everyone who shares their knowledge on this forum. I've learned a lot reading past threads!

Here's my situation, and thanks in advance for any advice:

I graduated college with a degree in sociology and subsequently went directly to grad school into a PhD program. I thought sociology would allow me to help be an active agent for positive change in the world. I was passionate about helping people and working closely with students to educate people about social justice. Boy did I found out I was in the wrong place!

My program was a terrible fit for me. I was told not to spend anytime on lesson plans, and that anyone with a passion for teaching was seen as someone who wasn't working hard enough of research, which is what "really matters." I was also advised to give up on activism, as there was no time for that if I wanted to be a successful academic. Along with other disappointments, including having a hard time getting a willing adviser for my 2nd year thesis (equivalent to a master's thesis), I exited the program after two years.

Near the end of my time there, even though I had finished my 2nd year thesis, I had to essentially beg my professor to sign off on my master's degree. He told me it had nothing to do with the quality of my work. He'd rather not grant me a master's degree since that often enabled unhappy students to leave the program, and he wanted to see all his students stay for their phd. The program did not *officially* offer a terminal master's degree, though you could fill out the paperwork to get one. It's just that allowing students to complete that paperwork was frowned upon. Finally I cajoled him and took a leave of absence for a year, and he agreed to sign off and allow me to be granted a master's. After that year off, I declined to return.