Letters of Recommendation Writers?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wagonwheel23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am planning on applying to medical school in the next cycle and have a quick question about letters of recommendation. I would love anyone's input!

I graduated from college in 2010 and from graduate school in 2012 (I left my Biochem PhD program with a masters). Since 2012 I have worked at two companies. The first was a small marketing startup in San Francisco. I was a highly respected employee and drove substantial growth during my tenure. I now work at a health and wellness startup, where I have also had success.

I will be able to get a committee letter from my undergraduate institution, but I'm a bit perplexed as to who to request letters of recommendations from. I will certainly have letters from my undergraduate and graduate research advisers. However, will recommendations from my direct managers (one is director level, the other is VP level) at the companies I worked at be valuable? I have additional professors from my undergraduate and graduate institutions that can speak highly of me, so I have some flexibility with who writes my letters.

Thank you so much for the advice! I appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

I was in in this exact situation. I ended up getting recommendations from 2 employers and one professor from school that knew me well. I did not use a committee letter and this was not an issue for almost all the medical schools I applied to. As a non-trad, I would focus on those that know you well and maybe try to get one science professor LOR. I got accepted...

Hi everyone,

I am planning on applying to medical school in the next cycle and have a quick question about letters of recommendation. I would love anyone's input!