About the ads

LMHC/LPC questions

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by titanz7, Apr 8, 2012.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. titanz7

titanz7

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Okay, so I am exploring my graduate school possibilities, and I feel like I have narrowed it down to either MSW/LCSW or LPC/LMHC. I don't know much about LPC/LMHC, so here's some questions.

Which degrees lead to LPC/LMHC? and after licensed, are they able to practice independently (without supervision)?

Also, do masters programs for LPC/LMHC have undergraduate prerequisite courses like doctorate programs do? I'm an undergraduate and I want to plan out course I should take if there are prerequisites for masters in whatever that leads to LPC/LMHC.

Thanks!
  2. Vasa Lisa

Vasa Lisa

SDN 2+ Year Member
    The LPC varies by name and requirements - state by state - it used to be a 48 hour Community Counseling degree and now is (in many states) a 60 hour Clinical Mental Health Counseling degree. Many states are moving to ONLY accept CACREP grads for licensure. If you want to accept Tricare insurance or work at the VA, you must have graduated from a CACREP accredited university.

Some states only require the NCE - a test of book knowledge - and little supervision for licensure - other states require the NCMHCE - lots of direct hours and lots of supervision. Hence the lack of license portability.

Read this:
    http://www.counseling.org/kaplan/AASCBkeynote.pdf

There has been a lot of discussion of this here - so you should be able to find lots of info on this site. Also join the counsgrads list serv. Lurk there and you will learn a lot.

Visit the CACREP site and also the ACA - American Counseling Association website so learn about educational paths.