lonely and in a very bad place

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted464128

Hi all, I am reaching out to this thread because the advice I need isn't something I can ask in the real world.

I'm an AMG, I graduated AP/CP residency in 2007 (good program, 4-5 residents/year)- in my last year I was diagnosed with cancer, for which I received treatment, during which I took my AP/CP boards and failed.

Long story short, buying myself more time to prep for the boards and because of complications of my condition, I went on to do 3 more fellowships. In the meanwhile, my husband divorced me because he couldn't handle the fact that his young wife had cancer.

I failed the boards a second time.

I miraculously got a job at an academic place (thanks to having done a specialty fellowship at an academic powerhouse).

I've been practicing for almost 2 years now, and fortunately neither have I missed a diagnosis in my specialty area nor have I screwed up any general frozen sections (knock on wood).

The volume here is very high, and I haven't had time to study for the boards.

I'm not stupid, or slow- I wasn't the best resident but I certainly wasn't the worst. I'm definitely a fully capable pathologist, dragged down by much emotional (and some physical) scarring.

My worries are:

1. I'm going to get fired soon because I'm not boarded
2. My board eligibility is done this fall

Can anyone please give me some advice?? Please?

Thanks and God bless,

-All alone

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi.