long road to get here... then chaos.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

healthyfitmom

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I was hoping to get some advice as I try to briefly share my situation and hopefully get some insight on as to what I should do.
I'm a mom to 3 small children (age ranges from 6 to 1), and married. I've been a pre-med student for about 5 years, but have been working on my bachelor's degree for almost 10 years (I have bad pregnancies and took time off here and there to take care of newborns and work while husband was out of work time and time again).
I am scheduled to take the MCAT on June 21st, and I began studying for it back at the beginning of November, as I knew it would take me a while to get it all down due to how crazy my schedule is. I also do have my own business and it's hard juggling everything between classes, MCAT prep, work, and family, and all the extracurriculars for med school. One week before Thanksgiving of last year, my husband had an accident and ended up with a mild/moderate traumatic brain injury. It affected his balance and ability to retain memory (does the movie 50 First Dates ring a bell??), not to mention the chronic headaches that won't go away. He was recovering well and just a couple of weeks ago slipped/fell in the tub and got a second traumatic brain injury and lost 3 months of memory. So basically I've been a single mom for over 4 months, just when I needed to have the most help, all while taking my husband to several weekly medical appointments to help him get better.