Looking for some advice for IMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KeepComfortable

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear guys and gals,

Hello! I'm in somewhat dire need of advice about FM residency applications as an IMG. I never really planned on coming to the States, but unfortunately I fell in love with an American girl, so... here I am.

I graduated from a decent school in the UK in 2012 (usually top 10 world ranking, not sure if that means anything for application in the US?) with a MBBS and BSc. I've worked 2 years full time (as a physician) in the UK in a variety of fields including 4 months in General practice which I really enjoyed. I spent another 2 years mostly doing part-time locum jobs in general medicine and have good contacts with my attendings from that period.

I have taken my Step 1 USMLE and did pretty poorly, 211, mostly due to my inability to really sit down and read anything, plus the fact that its basically all irrelevant nonsense (no, i'm not bitter at all!) Currently prepping for Step 2 CK which I think will be easier given my clinical experience and getting 85%+ in practice exams without having really opened my book/ started revising yet.

I /think/ my CV looks okay right now despite the bad score, with a 3 publications (I have 6 with my name on but 3 were pretty low quality so I'm keeping off my CV), a presentation and a few other things. I would appreciate someone taking a look at it if that's not too much trouble? Will post it if anyone wouldn't mind!