LOR problem..can't tell if letter will be good or bad..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

confusedchild

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm in a very big dilemma right now. I've been working in a lab for 2 years, and logically speaking and to not raise a red flag esp at research heavy schools, I'm obligated to submit a letter form the PI of this lab. It's actually a pretty big lab but I have gotten to know the PI very well as I've been working directly under him for the past year. My major issue is this...

The better that you get to know the person, the more the person knows about your strengths but also your FAULTS...

Last October, I applied to a school wide award for seniors and he wrote me an LOR for it. It is a pretty prestigious and competitive award, and I won it so I assumed after that point that a subsequent LOR from him for medical school would be a strong one as well...

I found out over the past week that he realized that for one of my classes that I took with a postdoc from the same lab, that I only attended 70% of the lectures. I had a good reason because I had a scheduling conflict and could not make it to all classes but I utilized all resources possible and knew I could handle it. I walked out rank 1/300 students from the class and received an A+. My concern now is that he knows my positive work ethics, my strong GPA, my amiable personality, etc...; however, he also knows little things like not attending 100% of the lectures and I don't know what else he knows that might possibly be negative.

I have very strong LORs from other professors/lecturers but it seems like since he is my PI, a letter from him is a must. I don't know what to do. I don't want a few negative comments amidst positive words to sink my chances. What should I do?

I can't tell if it will be a good LOR or a bad one. I'm confused...
But I also know that no LOR is better than a bad LOR.