Low first year science gpa, should I switch to a science major?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDwadup

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
So I'm only a freshman but I'm a bit worried. I've always wanted to become a doctor but I went though some rough times with 5 close friends and family members passing away in the past 6 months (i know, no excuse). This lead to me getting 2 C+'s last semester in gen bio 1 and gen chem 1, and it looks like I'll end up with a B in gen chem 2 and an A in statistics. My overall gpa will be about a 3.35, and science gpa will be about a 2.84...dismal, I know. I know for sure that I have the intelligence, and with the drive and write work ethic I can get that up. However, I'm a non-science major (Poli Sci), so I'm afraid that with a limited number of science classes I wont even have the opportunity to improve my science gpa much. This is leading me to think about switching my major to bio. I do like bio, not as much as poli sci, but I wouldn't mind majoring in bio if it meant a higher chance to get accepted.

Anybody get into a US MD school with first year grades like those?

What are your thoughts on me switching my major?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

since when is close friends and family passing away not a legitimate excuse. That is something terrible, and I am sorry for your loss. This can definitely be used to explain your poor grades in the future.
One semester of poor grades won't kill your chances. Stay poly sci, and simply take more science courses. You don't need to be a science major to take science courses.

Do you think you can handle the major and do you enjoy it? If so, go for it

Members don't see this ad :)