Low GPa...I really need some advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justtthappy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
It's is my current situation: I graduated college a year early and just rushed through everything. My cGPA ended up being a 3.1. I know the requirements have to be a GPA around 3.3 and a high MCAT score. I am aware that even a high MCAT score won't be able to balance out the low GPA.

I am currently pursuing my Masters in Medicinal Chemistry and plan to keep my GPA as close to 4.0 as possible. To have not done research yet, however the Masters program has a research component that I figured would help.
I plan to take the 2014 MCAT in December and if I need to the 2015 MCAT in the spring. I want to try for 33+.

As for volunteer/clinical experience.
I have been a volunteer math tutor for 5 years at an after school assessment center.
I have been a volunteer for a nonprofit charity called Friends of the Sick and Poor, that goes to Uganda every year to help bring clean water for people who have no water as well as aids and other sorts for 3 years
I have also been a volunteer in the cardiovascular unit for a year and a half.

This is what I plan to do:

I plan to volunteer at 1 or 2 more hospitals for 3-4 hours/week for 2 years while I am doing the masters.
I also plan to shadow a plastic surgeon as well as my primary care provider for at least 50 hours each.

Am I doing the right thing to try to get back on track? I plan to apply for the entering class of 2017. Should I be doing so or having a gap year. Please help me!! I am losing hope that my GPA situation will not be good enough since I didn't do any research and think about a post bacc or a SMP .

Members don't see this ad.