Low GPA Pre-pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the_struggles

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
So I was wondering what are my chances of getting into pharmacy school. I used to go to University of Pacific's pre-pharmacy program and was a 3+3 pre-pharmacy student. However, I ended up by my second year with a 2.5 GPA and not accepted into their pharmacy school. I left University of the Pacific because I felt that I needed a fresh start. Since I left I retook General Biology and got A's in both parts (first time I took it I got C-s), Organic Chemistry part 1 and got a B (before C-), Microbiology (before a D) and now an A. I have raised my GPA up to a 2.85. I have gotten straight A's except the one B in Ochem since moving back home last year. I work as a Veterinary Technician for the past year and volunteer in a pharmacy. Also I have done my own research projects...one on glucose levels on animals and another one on behavior of Beta fish. Also organized a heart health philanthropy event for my sorority. I'm currently about to finish online pharmacy technician program too.
I'm taking the PCAT in October. Also taking Organic Chemistry 2, Physics 2, Sociology Physiology this semester.

Also the reason I got low grades was that I was trying to do everything like I did in high school and trying to maintain a social life. I studied a lot but ran on no sleep (Regret). I wasn't a big partier but I did party once in awhile. It was more I spread myself too thin. Also failed my anatomy final because my "fantastic ex boyfriend" broke up with me right before my anatomy final that was 65% of my final grade when i was retaking the class.

Grades:(Retakes I have done)
General Bio 1-C-, A
General Bio 2-C-, A
Microbiology-D, A
Anatomy- C-,C-, A
Organic Chemistry 1-C-, A