low verbal score anyone???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

applying

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i took the april MCATs- got a 22. so i took the august MCATs and got a 27, but with a 7 in verbal (9 in PS, 11 BS, and R in writing). my advisor says I am not receiving any interviews yet because of this low verbal score, and that I will receive interviews in the spring.
My question is: has anyone out there been interviewed or even accepted with that low of a verbal score????

Members don't see this ad.

Hey, I also got a 7 in verbal, I received 2 interviews and one acceptance...however, and I'm not sure if this offset it, I had an undergraduate GPA of 3.67, and I have a master's degree in Epidemiology with a 4.0 GPA. That could have made admissions committees overlook the low verbal score. Also, I think several schools just completely screened me out because of the score (like my instant rejection to Mayo). Does anyone else on the board who is still undergraduate have interviews and/or acceptances with a low verbal score? By the way, how did you do on the writing sample? I often heard that a good score in this section can somewhat offset a low verbal score.

applying: i have the same scores as you do, so dont worry about your 7; it's not great, but it can get the job done. i did have 3 interviews so far.

Joseph Reses : ur right about some of the schools. i've called a few and it feels like they dont want to give me the bad news so they just say your app has been reviewed, on hol, or is being reviewed as we speak.

Members don't see this ad :)
I also received a 7 in verbal.... composite of a 31... and have had 4 interviews and three acceptances. It can be done.... I still think it is early in the process with all the AMCAS issues....