Loyola Anesthesiology Probation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TIVA23

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am currently applying to Anesthesiology and would like to stay in the Chicago area. I have applied to Loyola anesthesiology but I saw that they are currently on ACGME probation. Can anyone provide me with information as to why they are on probation and what is being done to correct the issue?

Thank you very much

Members don't see this ad.

How do you find out what schools are on probation?

I googled " anesthesiology programs on probation" and it took my to the ACGME page where I was able to search. Loyola was the only program that came up for anesthesiology on probation.

Members don't see this ad :)
From a relatively long-term and established member of SDN:

"I'm a resident at Loyola and yes we are on probation. I'm a long time poster here, but I had Arch post this for me because I'd prefer to keep my anonymity. I think it's better than someone creating an account with one post and not having any legitimacy, but who knows.

The reason we were put on probation was "service over education". Mainly that related to relief of CRNAs and a poor educational curriculum. We never broke duty hours, but there were a lot of times where you'd wait around to relieve a CRNA at 5. In addition, the quality of our lectures wasn't great and you were often pressured to go set up your room rather than attend. The atmosphere is excellent here and the department is well-respected around the hospital. There were no malignancy concerns that led to the probation.

Although we were in fact put on probation, that's actually led to some good changes here. They got rid of the CRNA relief thing and so you no longer have to sit around and wait if you are not on-call. They've also hired more attendings and CRNAs in an effort to further smoothen out the schedule.