Majoring in engineering... enough evidence for why I DONT want to do it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

junkct

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, so I'm a biomedical engineering major. I've been pre-med since the beginning, but somewhere deep inside me I always had that little pull towards BME, as well as simple genuine interest in the subject, which is why i chose it as my undergrad major. Now, as I'm in my third year of the major, I've decided that BME is definitely not my future. I love the field, but I just like medicine a whole lot more.

so to my question: I know medical schools like to see that you've considered other fields before settling on medicine (so you can show that you're truly interested). As I said above, I've considered BME, but have decided against it. My problem, though, is that I haven't ever done an internship or worked a job in a biotech company or anything like that, so I basically have no professional experience in the field. I know for myself that it's not my future, but will med schools actually believe me since I have no experience in the field, aside from whatever I've done in school? In other words, can simply being a BME major be enough justification for why I believe it's not for me? Before I apply to medical school next summer, I will not get a chance to do any kind of professional internship or anything, so I'm just hoping this will cut it.

Members don't see this ad.