Marijuana misdemeanor on birthday while in pharmacy school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nemo1990

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a third year pharmacy student. The fourth year at my school requires you to have a pharmacy intern license in order to participate in rotations to gain the necessary internship hours to be able to become licensed. Over the winter break I visited my hometown and hooked up with some old friends. One of them gave me a small bag of weed for my birthday (like a gram). As i'm not really a smoker I kept it in the car to maybe try when I got home. Unfortunately I was pulled over at which point I cooperated with the officer and told him where it was. The officer gave me a summons for possession of marijuana. I have no criminal record other than driving with an expired license which was dismissed when I bought my renewed license to court with no fines. I immediately notified the board of pharmacy at which my pharmacy intern license is currently being considered so that they would know I am not trying to hide this offense since it happened after the criminal background check. I will most likely undergo a pretrial diversion program which I know will still show up on my record as dismissed due to successful completion of the first offenders program.

I would greatly appreciate any feedback from anyone who has gone through a similar circumstance or knows of anyone who has. Is there any chance of me getting a probationary intern license? Also, is there a chance that I can become licensed as a pharmacist with such a recent charge?