Marital name change

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Atietjen1202

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I'm a third year student and have been considering the options when it comes to a marital name change. I have heard that if you get married after your DVM it is very difficult to change your name. Has anyone experienced this and if so can you fill me in on the details? Also, for those of you who got married during school could you explain the process as well. Thanks guys! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hello Everyone!

I'm a third year student and have been considering the options when it comes to a marital name change. I have heard that if you get married after your DVM it is very difficult to change your name. Has anyone experienced this and if so can you fill me in on the details? Also, for those of you who got married during school could you explain the process as well. Thanks guys! :)
I got married during school and it was simply a process of going to the social security office with the appropriate paperwork and marriage license.

It took roughly 6 weeks to come through and I informed the vet school who put the change through there. Certain things took longer than others and I would make a lot of copies of the marriage license - you will need them.

I got married during school and it was simply a process of going to the social security office with the appropriate paperwork and marriage license.

It took roughly 6 weeks to come through and I informed the vet school who put the change through there. Certain things took longer than others and I would make a lot of copies of the marriage license - you will need them.
Thanks so much for the advice!

Members don't see this ad :)