Masters degree first or apply directly to med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdfirst

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
im a college sophomore chem major with about a 2.9 GPA so far. I plan on raising it by senior year though...I need some advice, should I go to get my masters degree first in a desired subject, chem probably, or apply directly to med school? i figured that if i get a masters, it would help my chances considering my low GPA during first 2 years.

Members don't see this ad.

You are still really young. I would not consider a masters degree yet but instead be more focused on bringing up the GPA.

im a college sophomore chem major with about a 2.9 GPA so far. I plan on raising it by senior year though...I need some advice, should I go to get my masters degree first in a desired subject, chem probably, or apply directly to med school? i figured that if i get a masters, it would help my chances considering my low GPA during first 2 years.

I decided to get my Master of Public Health before I went off to medical school because my gpa was on the lower end of competitive (~3.25). I think it will help to not only show that you are motivated enough to do anything it takes to get to an MD, but also help lose some of the focus on the gpa. That was my thinking and that is my advice to you, so yeah I think going for the masters will be beneficial and increase your chances. If anyone else has other opinions though please feel free.

Members don't see this ad :)
thanks for the advice...

For now, focus on getting your undergrad GPA up, preferably to a 3.5 if possible. That really matters much more than a masters degree for getting into medical school. A sub-3.0 GPA is a huge barrier for admission, and most masters programs like to see a 3.0 minimum as well.