Masters degree in Biomedical Sciences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bg2014

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a recent graduate (class of 2014) with a Bachelor of Science in Biology degree. I had a pretty solid undergraduate career - i graduated with honors, Science GPA: 3.78, Overall GPA: 3.67. I took and excelled in various science courses, some of which were principles of biology, cell and molecular biology, genetics, microbiology, human physiology, gross human anatomy, general chemistry I & II and organic chemistry I & II.

Originally, my plan was to become a physician assistant. So, I shadow PA's, volunteer at hospitals, and worked as an EMT for 6 months. However, while I was doing all these pre-PA clinical experiences, I realized that being a PA or a healthcare provider (in general) is not my true calling. I guess my introverted personality and talents are not suitable for a clinician.

I have to note that despite this, I am very passionate about learning and studying about the biomedical sciences. While I was in school, I enjoyed doing lab work in lab classes and for one semester, I had the opportunity to participate in a clinical research. Although the study was not published, I totally had fun doing it. So now, I am learning towards a career in the biomedical sciences, specifically biomedical research in the biotech/pharmaceutical industry. My biggest problem is that I don't have an extensive hands-on lab experience, other than the ones stated above. That being said, how could I gain lab experience and kick start my career? Would getting a Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences be worth it?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: