Masters in Social Work and private practice in Canada? (general questions)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Harmos

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I currently live in Canada and it seems that you are unable to do private practice with a masters in psychology but you can with masters in social work. Is anybody doing this, or can give me more info? In addition, I like to know if there is any difference in terms of the therapy that a social worker would offer vs therapy offered by a psychologist. I studied psychology in college so I'm less familiar with social work. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Although they would probably view their clients issues under a different lens, so to speak, being that one has a background in social work, the other in psychology, it would really depend more on what modality they practice (e.g., CBT, EMDR, Play Therapy). Each therapist is going to be fairly unique in their approach so it's difficult to say for sure who will do what and how, especially if we're talking masters level for both. What kind of other info regarding private practice were you interested in?

Thank you Wesleysmith very much for the info. I am basically looking at my options. I guess you answered one of my questions because I wanted to know if social workers approach therapy differently, but apparently it's more about modality, at the end of the day. Because like I said, I'm not familiar with social work and my bachelors is in psychology. I suppose the other part of it would be the viability of doing private practice as a social worker, in Canada. Like their typical day, expenses, how difficult it is to get clients, what kind of therapy they provide, etc. APA provides some basic info and salary survey for psychologists in US but I could not find something similar, I for social workers in Canada, in particular those in private practice.

Members don't see this ad :)