MCAT Blues

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dayman

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've applied to med school before and ended up on a couple of waitlists. I talked to the head of a med school admissions board who looked through my application and the consensus was too many applicants plus an average profile and a relatively weak MCAT 30 (12/9/9) was my downfall. I am currently a teacher and in grad school, while prepping to take the MCAT again this January. I have many prereqs (clinical and nonclinical volunteering, lead college clubs, research experience, shadowing etc.), yet I am afraid that I am simply not doing enough to get in as a reapp. All of my ECs mostly came prior to my last cycle, and I am afraid that med schools will look through that, and it is hard to fully prep for the MCAT while working full time. Is there anything I can/should be doing now (relatively short of time) that can really help set me apart without adding to my grueling time schedule?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I've applied to med school before and ended up on a couple of waitlists. I talked to the head of a med school admissions board who looked through my application and the consensus was too many applicants plus an average profile and a relatively weak MCAT 30 (12/8/8) was my downfall. I am currently a teacher and in grad school, while prepping to take the MCAT again this January. I have many prereqs (clinical and nonclinical volunteering, lead college clubs, research experience, shadowing etc.), yet I am afraid that I am simply not doing enough to get in as a reapp. All of my ECs mostly came prior to my last cycle, and I am afraid that med schools will look through that, and it is hard to fully prep for the MCAT while working full time. Is there anything I can/should be doing now (relatively short of time) that can really help set me apart without adding to my grueling time schedule?