MCAT Burn Out

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j306c954

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am retaking the MCAT next Thursday, and have pretty much been studying since May. I would take a day off once a week, and I took 2 weeks off after my first attempt on August 1st. Since I started studying for the retake, I haven't really given myself many breaks. I took the day off yesterday but studied at night.

I was planning on studying all day today (going over some concepts I need to know better and end up missing easy questions because of), but it's as if everything is going in one ear and out the other. No matter how hard I try I cannot seem to focus at all, but I am weary of taking the day off since the test is in less than a week.

Would it be better to keep forcing myself to study today (with a short break every hour) or to just relax and take the whole day off?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
*she ;) My picture is just House because, well, I'm obsessed with him.
lol sorry default mode for me on the internet is to just assume everyone is a male. if i were you, since you're feeling comfortable that you've fixed your weak areas, i'd just do light studying up until thursday to build your confidence (take some days off), it's basically just a mental game now. i've been burnt out too while studying, nothing helps more than just replenishing your mind with something you enjoy and coming back refreshed without the baggage. good luck you'll be fine.

Keep your head up and just keep pushing through! Maybe take short breaks throughout. I'm taking on Thursday as well and I can see how hard it is to think about taking an entire day off.. which you should only do so if you're feeling completely overwhelmed. I'm just telling myself that this is the final push and I don't want to have any regrets about not studying more those last couple days so it's time to just put in the work now.