This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Prehealth1011

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey guys, long time lurker and posting here for the first time :)

I'm a Canadian student applying to Australian medical schools for the next cycle. I've taken the MCAT once and scored horribly with a 496 (125-121-126-124) which probably isn't competitive anywhere. I'll be re-taking the MCAT in 2016 and i was wondering if a May MCAT would be too late? The reason i ask is because I've noticed many schools start accepting applications in April..But i wanna give myself as much time as possible for the MCAT given that verbal takes the longest to improve on. I'm essentially trying to figure out a timeline to have my MCAT done and apply early-ish at the same time.

Any advice or opinion would be greatly appreciated !!
I guess they must've changed how the MCAT is scored since I took them because I have no idea what these numbers mean anymore! (I had scores in the low-mid 30s and got in several years ago, but no idea if that's helpful to you now).

Another option is to take the GAMSAT. I've heard that's a lot easier than the MCAT.

...except that the GAMSAT is easier for everyone, so I'm not sure how that would help the OP (unless the claim is that Canadians would do better than Australians on the GAMSAT -- if competing directly with their scores -- which is certainly possible). What matters in the end is the percentile score, e.g., for domestic students at UQ, the last *cutoff* was 68, or ~93%ile. Similar for USyd. Insane really, when you think about it.

https://drxiezz.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/gamsat-results-attempt-1/
http://www.gamsat-prep.com/GAMSAT-australia