MCAT Sophomore Summer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

desi5286

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Take the MCAT this summer, but stay in college for four years.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you really need to graduate in three years, plan to take a year off because you don't want to have taken the august MCAT before the year you are applying. But if finances aren't an issue, I wouldn't recommend graduating a full year early. I have the option, but I'm planning to just take a bunch of grad courses instead. If I'm really burnt out by then, I'll just graduate in December and spend the rest of the spring interviewing and getting ready for med school.

I have also chosen to take the written MCAT this summer (I'm a sophomore). I'm afraid of the computer-based, and there are just too many advantages to having the exam over with before you start junior year that I can't pass it up.

Good luck.

just for a different opinion...not sure that I would do it. I took the mcat the summer after my sophomore year, and I'm now paying for it. I decided that I wanted to pursue research for a bit and see how interested I am before applying--now I'm in a situation where my MCAT will be too old to apply to most schools-- probably gonna have to take it again. Also, a lot of upper level biologies are nice review before taking it. Just depends--ups and downs to either way.

If money's not an option, then taking it this summer will be a good 'test run', if you will. If you don't like your score, you can always take it again the following spring.