MCPHS Worcester - Any students want to give a glimpse into the life at MCPHS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xxwhisper

xxwhisper
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I read over a bunch of threads about MCPHS Worcester, but they're all pretty old (2006-2010), so I was wondering if I could get some input from some current students.

Some stuff about me (you can skip straight to the next paragraph for some questions if you like): I'm applying for fall 2014; I just graduated this year with a Bachelor's in Health Science from Northeastern University's College of Professional Studies as a full time student while working an average of 32 hours a week. I'm used to accelerated courses, since the CPS runs on a quarter system instead of a semester system. My GPA (calculated by my school, not pharmcas) was 3.72. I have 3 years of pharmacy technician experience and currently work as one at CVS. I have not taken the PCATs, and don't plan to.

The majority of things I've heard about MCPHS Worcester has been negative, but only because people say there is too much work to do. I think I'd be able to handle it. Are there any current students who can provide some insight on other aspects of the school?

How long are you in classes during the day? I've heard there's tests twice a week; I'm prepared to study at home. Have you found that you have time for activities other than school (do you sleep?)? How do you like Worcester? I'm from right outside of Boston, but I've never been over there. Do you feel safe, bored, excited, etc.?

I had planned only to apply to MCPHS Worcester - staying in the Boston area is very important to me, but MCPHS Boston doesn't accept many people each year and I wanted to maximize my chances of getting in. I'm feeling a little discouraged since all I'm hearing is bad things. Can any current students give their opinions (good or bad)?

Thank you advance (and nice to meet you)!