About the ads

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Check out PREMED.me!
    Offers FREE service to help premeds manage their applications and MCAT study calendars and identify schools to target.

MD after Ph.D.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Allopathic [ MD ]' started by Prettypuff1, Apr 20, 2012.

1. This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. Prettypuff1

Prettypuff1

SDN 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Hello
    So I have a long way to go before i apply but I wanted to get some opinions. I am going to be starting a Ph.D. in the fall in the sciences,particularly pharmacology. I am an older student 28 and I am interested in applying to Medical School after I finish my Ph.D. I am interested in becoming a physician scientist and focusing my interests in oncology.I would prefer to have both degrees to fully see patients while participating in clinical trials. While i have read that my Ph.D. wont give me a leg up, I am interested to know the application process as far as pre-reqs/ Undergraduate GPA since this is the most important part. Since my pre/reqs sciences are past the 5 year deadline, would they consider just the classes i had to retake because they were out dated or my science career as a whole? Thankfullly the phd allow me to be published and i am able to participate in clinical trials. I am open to applying to DO schools as well. But just would like opinions.

I am pretty ok with the lack of life. By the time i am looking to apply and matriculate, my son will be grown and i'll be on my own...
    Thanks
  2. Gut Shot

Gut Shot

Attending Physician
    SDN 10+ Year Member