MD after PhD, poor UG gpa - Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

airyu

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

[This is my first post, so please let me know if I have done something wrong in terms of posting.]

I graduated with a 2.9 undergrad GPA, double-majoring in Physiology and English. My science GPA was a 2.5. I was still stubborn and applied to MD/PhD joint programmes. I got a 34S on the (old) MCAT. I made the mistake of applying late (sent out primaries in late September), made the mistake of having a late recommendation (now I know to tell recommenders that the deadline is earlier than when it is).

I didn't get into any MD/PhD joint programmes, but I got interviews at two med schools and three PhD programmes (separately, despite three of the five schools stating they had a GPA cut-off above my GPA). I accepted a PhD offer (an advisor convinced me to go the PhD route before MD, so I turned down my med school interviews), and here I am. I have two years expected time to completion on my PhD, I'm making good progress, and my thesis committee seems on board with me finishing in 2017, barring some kind of catastrophe.

Additional information:

The one MD on my committee doesn't think I should take time away from my project to volunteer at hospitals, so it may be difficult to volunteer at the local hospital (since he works there). I want to volunteer, and if I decide to do so before I graduate, I am looking into volunteering at another near-by hospital. I had hospital volunteer experience, health-related volunteering experiences, a medical internship, a research scholarship, and shadowing experiences during undergrad, but that was 3 years ago at this point.

Do I need to do a post-bac programme after my PhD, prior to medical school? All of my graduate grades have been a 3.5 or above (my current graduate GPA is a 3.75).