Menu Icon Search
Close Search

About the ads

1. If you prefer the SDN Blue style, go to the bottom left of the page and select "SDN Blue"

MD prescribing in a state that he's not licensed to practice medicine

Discussion in 'Allopathic' started by SWSF, 01.14.12.

1. SWSF

SWSF

Pharmacist

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    I am a new pharmacist. I am curious as to what is the law for physicians prescribing in different states.

(1) Can a prescriber, who doesn't have a license to practice in CA, call in a verbal for a CA patient? For an example, MD is licensed in NY but not in CA. Patient lives in CA and the pharmacy is in CA. Can MD call in a verbal to the CA pharmacy?

(2) MD is licensed in NY but not in CA. Patient lives in NY but the pharmacy is a mail order pharmacy and is located in CA. The pharmacy is planning to mail the prescription to NY. Can MD call in a verbal to the CA mail order pharmacy?
  2. cbrons

cbrons love machine

Medical Student
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    I don't know, I think it depends. You should ask in the pharmacy forum. I'm pretty sure it only matters whether or not the DEA number is valid. I thought a prescriber in one state could write a prescription that could be filled in any of the fifty. This is partly because if I get a prescription filled at a walgreens at home and then go on vacation to another state, that walgreens out of state will still fill the prescription.
  3. peacewalker

peacewalker

Pharmacist
    An MD can prescribe and call in a rx to a different state in which he is not licensed in, providing that the pharmacist determines in "good faith" that there exists a patient /physician relationship and that the MD is qualified to prescribe that certain medication.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  4. bassvp

bassvp MS3

Medical Student
    Pharmacist SDN 2+ Year Member
    this.
  5. michaelrack

michaelrack All In at the wrong time SDN Advisor

Attending Physician
    SDN 5+ Year Member