MD Programs with strong community service missions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Old&InTheWay

Attending
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know it's a little late in the game at this point, but I just want to make sure I am not missing any obvious choices here. I am a 34 year-old non-traditional student. I have a 3.72 cGPA (with a strong upward trend), 3.98 sGPA and a 34 MCAT. I have seven months of volunteer/shadowing in an ED and have shadowed several other physicians in specialties that interest me. I have worked for years with intellectually and developmentally disabled adults (direct care, advocacy, service coordination, ect.) and am really committed to working with this and other marginalized populations.

I am a re-applicant after being waitlisted at all three schools I interviewed at last cycle (I think not getting accepted was largely due to bad luck as I felt the interviews all went well to excellent). The big mistake I made last time was applying to many schools with strong research missions. I was probably only seriously considered at 5-6 of the 12 schools to which I applied.

Here's where I have applied this time:

Albany
Rochester
CU Denver
UVM
BU
Tufts
Virginia Commonwealth
EVMS
Wake Forrest
St Louis University
Tulane