Med school after law school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SuperSix

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a law degree this year and passed my state's bar exam. The issue I'm facing now - as some of you no doubt have read about - is the brutal job market for lawyers currently.

I ended up deciding on law school after initially being pre-med and not having that work out. I applied to more than 20 med schools and didn't get in anywhere. I honestly wasn't sure what the next step was, and after thinking about my aptitudes and skills, I decided on law school.

So I'm sitting here a few years later, not knowing when and where, and even if, I'll get a job with my law degree, and how much that job will pay. Counting interest, I have just under $150K in loan debt from law school.

My question is whether it's feasible or a good idea to try med school again, either MD or DO. I graduated from a top-10 undergrad, and my MCAT was a 37 last time I applied. I think what hurt me in my application was my pedestrian BCMP GPA - around a 3.0 - and lack of impressive extracurriculars. I did some shadowing, visiting with patients, volunteering, etc. in undergrad, but nothing really eye-popping. I think this is what drove me away from medicine in the first place - not knowing what hoops to jump through to become a competitive applicant.

I'd obviously have to take the MCAT again, as the scores aren't good forever, but does anyone think I'd be competitive at any MD or DO program? Would the admissions committees view me negatively because I'm applying after I got my law degree - would they think I'm a quitter or have no direction, etc.?