Med schools that require recent letters of rec?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tealstar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm hoping to apply to med school this summer (2014), but I've been out of school for 3-4 years. I got my professors to write letters of recommendations for me a year after I graduated and I've had them stored in my interfolio account. My letters will now be 2 years old from the date they were written. I'm just wondering if anyone who has applied/been accepted to MD and DO schools have any experience with specific schools requiring letters of rec to be recent (within 1 year)? I know Wayne State Univ School of Med requires letters to be within a year old, but I don't know of any others. Also, does anyone know of specific schools that will not count a letter from a bio stats prof as a science letter? I will have more recent letters from PIs from my research lab that I've been working in since I graduated. Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

I'm hoping to apply to med school this summer (2014), but I've been out of school for 3-4 years. I got my professors to write letters of recommendations for me a year after I graduated and I've had them stored in my interfolio account. My letters will now be 2 years old from the date they were written. I'm just wondering if anyone who has applied/been accepted to MD and DO schools have any experience with specific schools requiring letters of rec to be recent (within 1 year)? I know Wayne State Univ School of Med requires letters to be within a year old, but I don't know of any others. Also, does anyone know of specific schools that will not count a letter from a bio stats prof as a science letter? I will have more recent letters from PIs from my research lab that I've been working in since I graduated. Any insights would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!