Med Student Airway Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HLxDrummer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a third year medical student that has been helping with airways on my ob/gyn rotation and have a few questions.

1. Any tips for mask ventilation? I feel like this is a crucial skill and I'm not very good at it. I can do it fine on mannequins but almost feel like my hands are too small on real people (doubt that is the issue, though - wear size 7.5 glove). I try to do the E-C method but either I can't keep a seal on the mask or the head falls over to the right side. Also, I know I need to lift up on the jaw but is it ok to apply pressure on the inferior surface as well? I feel like I shouldn't be closing the mouth but that's just my instinct.

2. When intubating, how do you open the mouth? I was taught to use the scissor technique but an attending today told me never to put my fingers in the mouth. He just had me push the jaw inferiorly from the side and I couldn't get it open nearly as well.

3. Any tips for avoiding teeth? I feel like I put the blade in and they are instantly so close before I apply pressure, especially without scissoring the mouth open. All I know is to pull on the axis of the handle.

4. Any tips for determining when your in the valecula? My first time I went over it with a Mac 4 (the CRNA said she liked a longer blade), the other two i undershot at first with a Mac 3. I am afraid to shove the blade down to hard/far and damage the area, but obviously can't visualize the cords without being in the valecula.