Medical School Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

needsomeadvice123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone.

I am deciding to apply to medical school after being 4 years out of undergrad. I went to took a couple years off after graduating to work, always wanted to go to medical school but wanted to pay off my loans, etc. I studied Molecular biology at UCLA, graduated with a 3.97 (non science) and 4.0 (science). - Wa native in student gov, and worked in two labs for over 3 years in undergrad. I took the mcat this past september got a 36.

I applied very late in the medical school cycle. Hoping I might, just might get in. I got secondaries to all placed i applied and only two interviews. I am asking for advice on how much does applying late in the cycle affect your prospects of getting in, or is it because I took too many years off from undergrad. In between working I also did volunteering/shadowing at hospitals.

Is my best bet to just try and apply again early in the cycle? any advice would help.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Everyone.

I am deciding to apply to medical school after being 4 years out of undergrad. I went to took a couple years off after graduating to work, always wanted to go to medical school but wanted to pay off my loans, etc. I studied Molecular biology at UCLA, graduated with a 3.97 (non science) and 4.0 (science). - Wa native in student gov, and worked in two labs for over 3 years in undergrad. I took the mcat this past september got a 36.

I applied very late in the medical school cycle. Hoping I might, just might get in. I got secondaries to all placed i applied and only two interviews. I am asking for advice on how much does applying late in the cycle affect your prospects of getting in, or is it because I took too many years off from undergrad. In between working I also did volunteering/shadowing at hospitals.