Midwest EM programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

veigarOneTrick

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Esteemed colleagues. I am a DO student looking to apply to midwest EM programs. I'm from MN and would like to return if possible. I just received my USMLE/COMLEX scores and they are 220/570 respectively. I have 5 years EMS experience (does that even matter?), research, good ECs, etc. Assuming I do above average on Step 2, do I stand a chance at ACGME midwest EM programs?

I'm specifically looking at Mayo's EM program. Is it as competitive as I think it is? I tell myself that it's competitive, but not hyper competitive due to the MN weather (which I adore). I worked there as an ED tech for a year, no clue if that helps my app at all. Would love to hear from someone familiar with the Mayo program.

I'm also interested in most of the midwest programs:

Both Wisconsin programs
University of Iowa
University of Nebraska
Advocate Christ
University of Illinois programs (Peoria, Chicago)
etc. etc. etc.

Would love some advice on whether I stand chance applying ACGME, or if I should apply AOA. Program recommendations are welcome! Your advice is much appreciated. Cheers

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
apply both. all mn program, iowa and wisconsin are extremely competitive

hcmc as a few years ago didnt have any DOs. regions is about 80% AOA. mayo is pretty highly regarded as well. with your experience, certainly not a waste but dont be too let down ifbyou dont receive any interviews. good luck
Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Hennepin took 3 DOs into their class of 12 this year. I think they have 5-6 now in the entire program if you include the EM/IM folks.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)