Military, Online, UMUC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Willdau

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
HELP!

I am currently a student at UMUC (University of Maryland University College). I am active-duty Air Force, currently stationed in Germany. UMUC is the only place near me that offers science pre-reqs, so I have no choice in school. I have taken several classes online, but none that are pre reqs for med school. I have a 4.0 and a lot of volunteer time. I plan on getting a lot of clinical experience as well, through job shadowing and volunteering. Do you think I can get into medical school? UMUC is completely unranked. If I maintain my GPA and kill the MCAT do I have a shot? Also, my home state is Oklahoma which appears to have high in-state acceptance rates (OU and OSU (DO))

Members don't see this ad.

Invest in MSAR Online to determine which schools will accept online credits. Some do, some don't. Mine does as lone as they're offered by an accredited university.

And many thanks to you for your service to our country!

HELP!

I am currently a student at UMUC (University of Maryland University College). I am active-duty Air Force, currently stationed in Germany. UMUC is the only place near me that offers science pre-reqs, so I have no choice in school. I have taken several classes online, but none that are pre reqs for med school. I have a 4.0 and a lot of volunteer time. I plan on getting a lot of clinical experience as well, through job shadowing and volunteering. Do you think I can get into medical school? UMUC is completely unranked. If I maintain my GPA and kill the MCAT do I have a shot? Also, my home state is Oklahoma which appears to have high in-state acceptance rates (OU and OSU (DO))

What about labs? I think a lot of schools are going to want to see some lab.