Military to Doctor

bc3699

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, I have wanted to become a Marine for the past 5 years. I also want to become a doctor (EM). I am really anxious about becoming a doctor and can't wait. But I also wanna be a Marine. Do you think it would work if I graduated from high school, then did 4 years in the Marines, and then started pre med? Do you think being in the military would help or hurt my application into med school. Do you think it would be hard being 28 going into med school as a veteran? Military medicine isn't an option. I wanna be an infantry Marine and then start college. I am an Eagle Scout, I volunteer at the fire company, and am planning on getting my EMT this summer. Will these help my chances at getting in?
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Military Generally helps your application, based off of the leadership and other skills you would gain in service.

Jlh19 is an infantry Marine/current-EMT applying right now. Maybe PM that guy. I was a 2844/41 (radio tech) so I was more on the "nerdy side". But the USMC affiliation is a lot less common for med school. It definitely carries a lot of weight in the leadership/altruism area unless you come across as a psychopath murderer like many of my Texan colleagues did/do. You will definitely be prepared for long days and boredom/repetition and getting told to do lots of random things so that will help a lot in med school.

So yes, it can easily help a lot and don't worry about starting "late". Worry about completing your non-medical-slave-related bucket list items before you apply. And try to get stationed in Okinawa if you can, that place is awesome.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)