This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cristinayang16

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I was just wondering is it possible to model on the side while you are in med school? I would obviously spend most of my time studying but for some free time I want to model, maybe walk in some shows. I got scouted and plan to go to med school in New York. Is it a waste of time or is it okay to? It would be more of a hobby rather than a job.

Thank You!

Members don't see this ad.

Would a modeling agency want to represent you if your availability is very limited? Many of these shows are weekdays when you'd be expected to be in class/lab. And there are fittings and so forth. And models are expected to travel. I'd say it doesn't sound practical.

Reactions: 9 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I personally would not do anything that elicits publicity while I am a medical student, just to be safe. When you open yourself up to a larger audience, there's going to be some people criticizing random things about you, which could be trouble if your school does not want the trouble.

Reactions: 1 users
I personally would not do anything that elicits publicity while I am a medical student, just to be safe. When you open yourself up to a larger audience, there's going to be some people criticizing random things about you, which could be trouble if your school does not want the trouble.

I don't see where being a model is in any way "publicity". With rare exception, models are nameless.

Truth be told, decades ago I was a model in a print ad for a major retailer in my community. Just playing a mom in the ad (I wasn't actually a mom at the time.) Someone point it out to my boss who said, "That's not Lizzy; you mean to say that it is someone who looks like her."

Reactions: 13 users