Most unpleasant aspects of your job as a pharmacist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PAtoPharm

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a PA anesthetist student who is strongly considering withdrawing from my program to attend pharmacy school (I am aware of the oversupply issues; I live in an undesirable area of the southeast where there are only a few pharmacy schools within a 2-3 hr radius). I have posted the link to a thread I made on the Pre-Pharmacy program in which I explain why I want to make this career switch.

Having said that, before I make any definitive decisions, I'd like to ask you guys -- what are the most unpleasant, day-to-day aspects of being a pharmacist? In other words, even if you enjoy your job overall, what are the elements of the job that every pharmacist has to deal with that you wish didn't exist?

I also had a couple other brief questions. As a retail pharmacist working for Walgreens, CVS, Wal-Mart, etc., is your work day primarily spent filling prescription after prescription? When the work becomes stressful, what's the actual cause of the stress -- too many prescriptions to fill, whiny patients, monotony/boredom associated with doing the same thing over and over again, etc.? Or is there some other source of stress associated with being a retail pharmacist that I'm not familiar with?

Also, does anyone happen to know how to go about shadowing a pharmacist? Can someone actually shadow a retail pharmacist working, for example, at Walgreens?

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to help answer my questions....

Original thread on Pre-Pharm forum:

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/thr...-considering-pharmacy-school-instead.1163937/

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
There's inpatient pharmacy, amb care, long-term care pharmacy, independent, etc. Why retail pharmacy?