Moving forward

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DingoPingo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a senior graduating from a research-focused college in December. Stats:

-3.9+ GPA
-research: cognitive neuroscience lab (2.5 yrs), marine biology research (0.5 yrs), neuroscience summer research fellowship
-2 non-first author papers (1 in marine biology, 1 in developmental pain), couple of posters/abstracts
-random jobs: tutor, biology facility technician, registrar office
-non-clinical service: post-acute center and senior apartments (semi-clinical), lots of working/tutoring with children
-leadership: coordinated a program connecting mental illness patients with students
-hobbies: web development (mainly personal experimentation), a cappella, choir, public speaking clubs, religious societies
clinical service: none
shadowing: none
MCAT: I'm studying, dang it..

After freshman year I had a personal setback (read: depression) which prevented me from doing some ECs (I completed EMT-B course but then couldn't volunteer) and stopped me from studying the MCAT. However, I am trying to put myself back on track. I will, of course, be taking a gap year.

What steps should I take moving forward to maximize my chances? What are the weaknesses and strengths currently? What are some common, interesting clinical service opportunities? I have a spring semester and a gap year left and would like some advice.

Thank you all :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hard to say without an MCAT, but provided that turns out well, your research/leadership experience makes you a good fit for some top research schools.

HOWEVER...as you've already pointed out, your glaring weakness is your lack of clinical service/shadowing.