Moving to Australia with a status

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shaail0240

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a unique problem for which I could not find a relevant thread, so I am posting new one hoping to get atleast some genuine replies, if anyone out there has information regarding the specific problem please feel free to share. I have been contemplating a career in Australia for a long time but recently I have been faced with a hurdle in my journey forcing me to have second thoughts. I'm a practicing medical doctor and I am diagnosed with HIV (on treatment and virally undetectable) my question is that is there any scope for a person with my status to practice medicine in Australia. I know Australian visa rules are stringent and I should get a health waiver to obtain a visa, however my concern is whether given my status, do I stand any chance to move to Australia even though I am eligible in other aspects. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

For registration with AMC, I don't know. As for the visa, I know several people tested HIV positive have been granted PR.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi! I just went through the AU visa application and all the Australian health requirements to work as a doctor. There are most definitely places to state your status but it was stated throughout that accommodations can be made. I honestly don't think they would rule you out. Most people in healthcare test positive for TB. I can ask my professors tomorrow.

Hi! I just went through the AU visa application and all the Australian health requirements to work as a doctor. There are most definitely places to state your status but it was stated throughout that accommodations can be made. I honestly don't think they would rule you out. Most people in healthcare test positive for TB. I can ask my professors tomorrow.