MPH in environmental and occupational health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BSN/MPH

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a Bachelors degree in nursing but I am considering getting out of nursing and getting my Masters in environmental and occupational health. Has anybody here followed this same path. Or have you heard of nurses going into this field. I have always been interested in environmental sciences and I figure I might as well be doing something that I like. Also what is a typical day like in a job with this degree. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am an environmental cancer epidemiologist. I do research on air pollution and cancer and what the associations are between various exposures and outcomes. I find it a very fulfilling job and enjoy my experiences. Although I am a PhD and not just a MPH, so the type of work I would do would be a bit different (I'm leading projects and analyzing and writing manuscripts to be published as my number one task).

Reactions: 1 users
I just landed my first EH gig, which is a lower level position at the health department, but I'm happy as it promises to be all-encompassing (food/restaurant, water/well, septic, soil, rabies...) and will be a good starting point for gaining experience that I will need as my career progresses. I know that our day is 9-5, with some nights and weekends, and we spend the majority of our time out of the office, but other than that I can't tell you about a typical day (yet).

I considered getting a BSN to augment my MPH, so to speak, but after working as a patient care tech and a medical assistant, I don't know that I even want to go through the clinicals. The reason that I was considering it, though, was so that I could be a EH professional addressing issues from the clinical/medical side of things. So, I would like to encourage you toward that path is you want to work in EH.