MPH in Epidemiology Admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sean.316

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm looking to go to graduate school for a MPH in Epidemiology (Infectious Disease Epidemiology) but it's not clear to me what admission are like. I want to go to a top-notch school like Columbia or Harvard, but even after going through the school websites it's not clear to me whether it is reasonable goal or not for me. What do you guys think?

A bit about myself:

-I'm majoring in mathematics at good international university. I have a 4.0 GPA and I'm starting to take graduate courses in statistics next term as I have finished all the required undergraduate math and statistics courses.
-However, I don't have substantial work experience in epidemiology or public health. I've been mainly focusing on my courses. Hopefully this summer I can find more serious work with a professor helping out with data analysis.
-I haven't taken the GRE yet.
-I am planning on applying to graduate school right after undergrad, but perhaps I may need to get work experience first as I hardly have any.

Thanks for your input! Also any suggestions are welcome.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi all,

I'm looking to go to graduate school for a MPH in Epidemiology (Infectious Disease Epidemiology) but it's not clear to me what admission are like. I want to go to a top-notch school like Columbia or Harvard, but even after going through the school websites it's not clear to me whether it is reasonable goal or not for me. What do you guys think?

A bit about myself:

-I'm in my third year studying mathematics at McGill University . I have a 4.0 GPA and I'm starting to take graduate courses in statistics next term as I have finished all the required undergraduate math and statistics courses.