MPH, Post Bacc, or UAG?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shmicky

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here are my options...
I got accepted into OU's MPH program and am supposed to start in the fall. I didn't do stellar for my undergraduate degree (pre-sports med), so I have been a post bac student at UT-El Paso (back home) for a year now. I have read that getting an MPH isn't a GPA saver and since I graduated a sports medicine, I could take more undergrad bio pre-med classes that I didn't take at my undergrad school. I am taking the mcat on august 2nd and I have consistently getting 25's on my practice MCAT. Should I get a masters and risk not raising my undergrad science gpa?, defer a year of my masters and boost my undergrad gpa as a post bacc (plus try to boost my MCAT)?, or apply for UAG for spring admission?

Stats:
Undergrad Science: 2.89
Undergrad Overall: 3.1
Post-Bacc Science GPA (17 hours):3.65
Post-Bacc Overall GPA (20 hours): 3.70

Overall GPA: 3.2
Overall science GPA: 3.05

Estimated MCAT: 23-27

My goal is to become a pediatrician. It sucks that the mistakes I did when I was a freshman and sophomore could haunt me 3ish years later. I am interested in an MPH because it provides a pretty good outlet career that would make a difference in people's lives, if the med route doesn't work out. I am really interested in UAG because i could attend OU in the fall, get accepted (and defer) UAG admission in the spring, then finish my MPH and start my MD degree after that (it would take me 5.5 years to get a MPH & MD). The problem with UAG: risk of not getting a residency match in the U.S.

Any opinions?

Members don't see this ad.

Have you considered DO schools? Take a MCAT class. Raise your MCAT. You won't get into med school with those MCAT scores. Actually, since med school is your best bet, you might want to try one of the med school oriented forums might be a better fit.