MSTP Choices

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which MSTP?

• Columbia

Votes: 16 50.0%
  • Johns Hopkins

Votes: 4 12.5%
  • Stanford

Votes: 12 37.5%

• Total voters

drjekyll01

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Longtime fan of SDN, but first time posting. This past year I interviewed for MSTPs and was lucky enough to be accepted into Stanford, Hopkins and Columbia (my 3 favorites when interviewing). I am currently studying abroad, so I probably won't be able to do the revisit weekends.

I really like the idea of living in NYC, and I have friends/family in the area. I think Columbia has a phenomenal program, but doesn't perhaps have quite the same breadth of faculty and resources as Stanford or Hopkins (I have research interests in cancer biology/tumor metabolism, but am open to pursuing another field).

MSTPers, do you think it is a mistake to choose Columbia over Stanford/Hopkins, primarily because of location? I know that going to Columbia would not limit my future career options, yet at first glance I am a little more excited by the research at Stan/JHU. On the other hand, I worry that I may feel a bit isolated in Palo Alto or Baltimore--seeing old friends and family somewhat regularly is important to me.

Really appreciate any thoughts/experiences that anyone has had with these programs, or the MD/PhD path in general. I am humbled and excited to be in this position, and know that any of these options will be a great experience.

P.S. apologies if I have posted in an incorrect format or in the wrong forum...

Members don't see this ad.

Hey there,