My DAT Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

simplyome

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I will first start this post off with a warning - please do not take what I say about the DAT to heart. From what I noticed, I read many of the posts of other SDN users about their experience and sort of assumed what would show up on my exam and it was not what I had anticipated. There are so many versions of the exam and there are just too many questions to determine what would show up for your particular test. I will however post how I felt for the hell of it. :D And extend a :) THANK YOU :) to all those who helped me during the studying period.

PAT 19
QR 19
RC 18
BIO 18
GC 23
OC 22
TS 21
AA 20

Preparation
- I studied for about 3 weeks and got sick some time in between. I went through the Kaplan book once, Destroyer and did Topscore tests timed. I did the Achiever questions not timed. When there were concepts I didn't understand I went to my textbooks - which was mainly my first year biology text since that was what I didn't know much about. I am a Biochemistry major so the Chemistrys were my strengths hence I spent more time on Biology considering I haven't taken a lot of the courses such as Human Physiology, Ecology, Evolution, etc. I will have to add - if you are planning to take the DAT's take classes during the year that will help you cause a lot of the questions I got I had to turn to my knowledge from my past courses such as, Physical Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, General Chemistry, Molecular Biology, Metabolism, etc.