My demeanor is too dependent on the patient..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

herewego

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Semi-rant but also a call for advice from more seasoned ED docs out there.

I'm an intern. I get along well with most patients. If they're even half reasonable human beings, in distress, or kiddos, I've got genuine sympathy for them and my demeanor reflects that.

But I guess I"m not great at hiding annoyance and frustrating yet. Case and point today. 60+year old lady, multiple abdominal surgeries coming in for abdominal pain. Seems with it, says her pain is 10/10 (doesn't look like it, you know exactly what I'm talking about), but I give her the benefit of the doubt because shes had some real pathology in the past. I start doing the physical exam, and I say "Ok I'm going to push down on your belly, you let me know if it hurts more when I push or when I let go." I proceed to do that probably 10 times, without her actually answering the question with anything remotely close to "when you push down" or "when you let go." I get frustrated and my tone changes to show some annoyance. Daughter at bedside calls me out, says I need to work on my bedside manner because her mother is in pain. Fair enough, I showed annoyance.

I can see that I'm at fault for showing the annoyance, but I also think a grown woman AOx3 should be able to answer a question after 10 tries, and that at some point they should be treated as an adult and not a baby.

Thoughts? What goes through your head when you're in these kind of situations? Does it get to you?

Members don't see this ad.