My Major is General Studies, Will That Hurt My Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Geonsur

Geonsur
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. My major is general studies, and I am hoping of getting into medical school. I am in my second semester of college. Last semester, I maintained a 4.0 while taking physics and a chemistry course that had the highest attrition rate the college has ever seen.

Let's just assume that I maintain a 4.0 throughout college, while taking all of the pre-med prerequisites, and score in the upper 30s on my MCAT. Would a medical college admissions board choose someone with the same credentials as me - 4.0, high MCAT score, research, etc. - over me just because my major is General Studies.

* If you are wondering why I chose general studies as my major, it was to avoid the pre-med advisors.

Regards.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello. My major is general studies, and I am hoping of getting into medical school. I am in my second semester of college. Last semester, I maintained a 4.0 while taking physics and a chemistry course that had the highest attrition rate the college has ever seen.

Let's just assume that I maintain a 4.0 throughout college, while taking all of the pre-med prerequisites, and score in the upper 30s on my MCAT. Would a medical college admissions board choose someone with the same credentials as me - 4.0, high MCAT score, research, etc. - over me just because my major is General Studies.

* If you are wondering why I chose general studies as my major, it was to avoid the pre-med advisors.

Regards.

Are you at Columbia? If not, why are you majoring in GS? Med schools don't really care what your major is (not even sure if they even really note a person's major). I'm just wondering why that's your major unless you were accepted into Columbia's School of GS.