My mom needs SDN's help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hednej

***** Level 60
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,
I'm writing this post on behalf of my mom. I've done my absolute best but I'm just a poor pre-med student and I don't have much advice to give her, so I need SDN's help. Here is her story:

My mom is a FMG, graduated in 1997. She came over about 6 years ago and studied for the USMLEs. She passed step 2 after 3 attempts and got a 85. She passed step 1 on the second try and got a 77. She's also passed the CS.

I helped her put together an application for family medicine this year but she did not get any interviews. We have been doing the match thing the whole day today and I'm pretty frustrated because everywhere we call,
1. she has either had too many shots at the boards
or
2. She has no clinical experience (this one sounds like a catch-22, how can she have any clinical experience if she's a FMG?)
or
3. She graduated too long ago
or
a combination of any of the above.

Please SDN, I feel so bad for my mom. She's such a wonderful person and a great physician, but I'm not able to help her because my knowledge of this whole process is so little. Do you have any advice on what she can do to either get a residency spot for next year or improve her chances for the next cycle?

Thanks so much again,
Hednej

Members don't see this ad.

Try the following website:

www.FindAresident.com

I think there are things called Observerships that your mom can sign up for to get a little US medical exposure.

Good luck,
Soapbox123