My thoughts on Podiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

teambringit

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-pod student that will be starting at POD school this fall. I just wanted to share my thoughts on this field after a lot of research. I've shadowed MDs, DOs, and of course a DPM. I know the pros, cons, and differences amongst all three. I have to say that podiatry is a VERY UNDERRATED career choice. I have a competitive gpa for MD and especially DO schools yet I still chose podiatry school. I like the fact that I will be able to perform surgery, yet still build long lasting relationships with my patients. I like that I can prescribe medications as I see fit.

Now you may be asking why I chose to share my thoughts. It seems like every single forum (not just podiatry) has a bad habit of bringing up the negatives of their profession yet glossing over the positives. Lets face it podiatrist make good money (6 figures a year). Maybe not as much as other Doctors but still well above average. All of this talk about prestige infuriates me at times. There will always people out there that call us fake doctors. Why do you care what they think? They haven't done the research on the training or even the scope of practice of podiatrists today.

Is this profession perfect? NO! What career doesn't have their issues? Residency "crisis" is an overrated problem. It is a problem don't get me wrong, but a crisis it is not. I agree that every single grad who passed the boards should obtain a residency but to call it a crisis when nearly 90% were able to make the right connections and work hard to obtain a spot is a bit over the top. MDs, DOs, pharmacists, etc. all of which are facing graduates that are not obtaining a desired residency.

Bottom line, it is a great career with a good income (even with loans to pay off) and great opportunities to really set your self apart from other Doctors. Just my thoughts.