Navy pilot to med student advice / resign commission early? - help please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zilber

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first post on this forum, and I would like to thank you in advance for the help.

I am a Navy pilot, and almost finished with my JO tour. I am due to transfer to Pensacola next year and should be stationed there as instructor pilot for about 3 years. I have a pre-med plan planned out, and my goal is to apply to USUHS a year before I transfer for my disassociate sea tour, and instead of transferring there, if I am fortunate, transfer to USUHS.

The problem is that when I finish my Pensacola orders, I will have only paid the Navy back 7 years and 3 months for flight school, and the requirement is 8 years. MILPERSMAN 1920-200 states that obligation for the aviatiion pipeline must be completed.

Has anyone had experience with this? What are my options? Once again, thank you very much for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

This is my first post on this forum, and I would like to thank you in advance for the help.

I am a Navy pilot, and almost finished with my JO tour. I am due to transfer to Pensacola next year and should be stationed there as instructor pilot for about 3 years. I have a pre-med plan planned out, and my goal is to apply to USUHS a year before I transfer for my disassociate sea tour, and instead of transferring there, if I am fortunate, transfer to USUHS.

The problem is that when I finish my Pensacola orders, I will have only paid the Navy back 7 years and 3 months for flight school, and the requirement is 8 years. MILPERSMAN 1920-200 states that obligation for the aviatiion pipeline must be completed.

Has anyone had experience with this? What are my options? Once again, thank you very much for your help.